

Australian Government

Wine Australia

Media Release

Issued Thursday, 1 December, 2011 EMBARGOED UNTIL 10AM

Cheers to Australia's most outstanding export wine: A McLaren Vale Shiraz!

A leading McLaren Vale winery has been rewarded as Australia's best export wine of the year, with Hedonist Wines winning the prestigious George Mackey Memorial Trophy for its 2009 The Hedonist Shiraz.

Chosen from more than 14,500 wines, the 2009 The Hedonist Shiraz is one of the winery's flagship products and was made by Walter Clappis with assistant winemakers James Cooter and Kimberly Clappis, Walter's youngest daughter.

The George Mackey Trophy adds to Walter's impressive list of plaudits, spanning over 30 years at Hedonist Wines and also in his time at Ingoldby Winery. He has amassed a total of 37 trophies and 124 gold medals, including winning the Dan Murphy Trophy three times and being announced as the McLaren Vale Bushing King.

Wine Australia Chief Executive Andrew Cheesman said the George Mackey Trophy recognised the exceptionally high standard set by Walter and his team at The Hedonist.

"This award cements the reputation of The Hedonist, particularly as it was chosen from more than 14,500 wines by an expert panel," he said.

"The Hedonist has been rewarded for excellence with this award and it also means it is flying the flag for the Australian fine wine segment in key international markets."

The Hedonist Winemaker Walter Clappis said the team was "overwhelmed and honoured" by the award, particularly having regard to those export wines over which The Hedonist triumphed.

"The crème de la crème of Australian wine being exported were vying for this award and our wine was judged to be the best which makes us incredibly proud".

"We were up against Australia's wine export heavy-weights and we are honoured to be representing the finest wine of Australia."

The George Mackey trophy was established in memory of a former chairman of Wine Australia (formerly Australian Wine & Brandy Corporation), Mr George Mackey, who passed away in office in 1990.

The award is presented annually by Wine Australia to the most outstanding export wine of the year. Initial nomination is made by Wine Australia wine inspectors, who set aside the best wines during the daily inspection of every exported Australian wine.

This year, 53 wines were eligible from a pool of more than 14,500 and the judges included Peter Godden from the AWRI, Chapel Hill winemaker Michael Fraggos and Peter Welsh from Edinburgh Cellars. To be eligible, at least one pallet of wine must be exported within the year of nomination.



Previous winners have included Penfolds, Wirra Wirra, Tatachilla, Coldstream Hills, Cape Mentelle, Penley Estate and Sabella Vineyards. Last year, iconic Australian wine brand Wolf Blass won the trophy with its 2005 Wolf Blass Black Label Cabernet Shiraz.

"The George Mackey Trophy, along with our strong focus on promoting Australia's fine wine category globally ensures we continue to celebrate Australia's best wines," Mr Cheesman said.

"Despite the challenges currently facing the wine sector, Wine Australia is focused on encouraging the continued recognition of iconic and great Australian wines. The George Mackey Memorial Trophy plays an important role in this recognition."

ENDS

FURTHER ENQUIRIES:

Julia Angove Manager, Communications & PR, Wine Australia Phone: 02 9361 1721 / 0488 993 777/ julia.angove@wineaustralia.com

Notes for editors

GEORGE MACKEY MEMORIAL TROPHY

The trophy is presented annually by the Corporation to the most outstanding exported wine of the year. Initial nomination of the award is by Wine Australia's wine inspectors through the routine inspection process and the final winner is selected by an independent panel of wine show judges. To qualify for the final selection, 200 cases (1800 litres) of the product must have been exported.

Presentation of the trophy is made at the Corporation's annual general meeting in December each year.

Trophy winners include:

- 1990-1991 Lindemans 1990 Padthaway Chardonnay
- 1991-1992 Coldstream Hills 1991 Pinot Noir
- 1992-1993 Hardys Collection 1991 Padthaway Chardonnay
- 1993-1994 Cape Mentelle 1993 Chardonnay
- 1994-1995 Diawa Nar Darak 1994 Chardonnay
- 1995-1996 Penley Estate 1993 Penley Cabernet Sauvignon
- 1996-1997 Rosemount Estate 1994 Show Reserve McLaren Vale Shiraz
- 1997-1998 Coldstream Hills 1996 Reserve Chardonnay
- 1998-1999 Rosemount Estate 1996 SR McLaren Vale Shiraz
- 1999-2000 Chateau Xanadu 1998 Chardonnay
- 2000-2001 Tatachilla 1998 McLaren Vale Cabernet Sauvignon
- 2001-2002 Orlando 2000 Jacobs Creek Limited Release Chardonnay
- 2002-2003 Wirra Wirra 2001 RSW Shiraz
- 2003-2004 Brothers In Arms 2002 No.6 Langhorne Creek Shiraz Cabernet
- 2004-2005 Mt Toolleen 2002 Ebenezer Vineyard Barossa Valley Shiraz
- 2005-2006 Penfolds 2003 RWT Barossa Valley Shiraz
- 2006-2007 Penfolds 2004 Bin 707 Cabernet Sauvignon
- 2007-2008 Penfolds 2005 Yattarna Chardonnay
- 2008-2009 Sabella Vineyards 2005 McLaren Vale Cabernet Sauvignon
- 2009-2010 Wolf Blass Black Label 2005 Cabernet Shiraz

